Phone: +1 (eight four four) 667-3977                    CONTACT NOW                  Mail: info(at)northernspaintour.com

DOUBT THERE IS A BETTER TOUR GUIDE IN SPAIN”
”Visiting the caves with Charles was not like being on any tour I have ever been on before, more like visiting with a friend. Charles is extraordinarily knowledgeable about the caves and so willing to share that with others, that is a gift. I doubt there is a better tour guide in Spain
— Liz S. & Allen C., Tennessee, USA - March, 2017
YOU EXCEL IN EVERY WAY”
”Thank you so much for a most wonderful visit to the painted caves of Cantabria. You excel in ever way: Punctuality, Cheerfulness, Knowledge, Inspiration. F
antastic and your patience in getting me round the tight places in some of the caves much appreciated. Hoping to return soon.
— Mick P., Gloucestershire, England - November 2016 (also April 2016, April 2015, November 2014)
MEMORABLE & EXCITING”
”Our visit to the caves in Northern Spain was a truly wonderful and exhilarating experience. Charles was a brilliant guide in every way. His thorough knowledge of the area and passion for the Paleolithic cave art greatly enhanced our visit. Also, as some of the cave guides did not speak English, Charles was able to interpret for us. He was friendly and caring with a good sense of humour and we could not have experienced as much as we did without Charles. His organisation was impeccable. A truly memorable and exciting trip.
— Jenny C., Devon, UK - November 2016
MADE ME FEEL LIKE A FAVORITE GUEST”
”I am so glad I took a tour. The places he showed me; in context of the landscape, culture, and unimaginable span of time. I quickly realized the value of having Charles guide my experience. He gave an excellent introduction to what we would see and he explained the matter of interpreting cave art in such a way that I could appreciate the mystery of it, yet feel that through my human connection to the ancient artists I might understand their work as they intended. Charles scheduled an itinerary that showed me a marvelous variety of types of cave art, and in an order that helped me appreciate the differences and similarities. His professional and warm relationship with the employees who managed visitors to the caves was a tremendous advantage to me. I really felt that I was getting special treatment - especially at the busy Cave of Altamira, where Charles and the guide whisked me from place to place to see all the best examples of art in such a way that I hardly noticed the crowds. I was amazed at how much I was able to see in just a day and a half.

Charles helped immeasurably with my travel logistics. He got my travel tickets and reserved a nice place for me to stay. He was prompt, easy to communicate with, and willing to answer my numerous questions about everything. Best of all, he made me feel like a favorite guest. I do hope to come back!
— Dolly C., California, USA - October 2016
FANTASTIC, HIS PASSION ANIMATED A DAY”
”Our tour with Charles was fantastic, his passion animated a day of journeying into stunning caves where we witnessed the dawn of human art. Each time we entered into these spaces the experience was expertly guided and enhanced by Charles historic knowledge and great relationships with the onsite guides. We were transported to another time and ancient mind, inspired.
— Ben P. & Kathleen, New York, USA - October 2016
GOOSE BUMPS!!!”
”My husband and I recently toured Paleolithic Cave art in Northern Spain with Charles from Northern Exposure Spain. We had a truly incredible time. We have visited prehistoric caves in France and were fortunate to set up a 2-day tour with Charles. Even though our days of visit were fixed (on one of the days most caves were closed), he managed to put together a fabulous tour for us. We started with a really informative introductory presentation of the all the caves in Northern Spain, learned about their discovery, recently introduced dating techniques, and ongoing archeologic activity. We really had a wonderful experience. The experience of seeing amazing art from 14,000 to 40,000 years ago was incredible. Goose Bumps!!! We will be going back to tour with Charles again.
— Katherine & David B., Washington, USA - October 2016
GOT A MUCH BETTER UNDERSTANDING”
”Just wanted to take the opportunity to thank you. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and felt that we got a much better understanding of the caves and their evidence of human habitation. Also we were left with a greater admiration of the artistic skill of these early people- demonstrating depth, using the natural form of the caves etc. Much of that appreciation was due to your enthusiasm and knowledge that you shared with us and we have started to spread the word amongst our friends in Australia.
— Doug & Basia, South Australia, Australia - October 2016
KNOWLEDGEABLE AND PASSIONATE”
”The mystery of the caves remains a mystery. And, as you know, words cannot do it justice. I believe that’s how it should be. I also know how fortunate we were to be exposed to this art by someone as knowledgeable and passionate as you. That you obviously enjoy sharing this knowledge, and yourself, with strangers is a gift. We thank you.
— Barbara & George K., North Carolina, USA - October 2016
KNOWLEDGEABLE, COMPANIONABLE, RESPONSIVE, ORGANIZED AND ENTHUSIASTIC”
”The day we spent with Charles touring three caves with Paleolithic paintings was probably the highlight of our three weeks in Spain. He organized our tour around our interests, physical ability, and the time available to us. Charles gave us background on the region and the art as we drove between the caves. All in all, it was a perfect day. Our only regret is that we didn’t allot the time for a multi-day tour. Charles is knowledgeable, companionable, responsive, organized, and enthusiastic about the area he knows so well. We recommend his tours without reservation.
— Pat & Bob O., Maryland, USA - October 2016
A FANTASTIC TIME”
”We just wanted to say we had a fantastic time with you in northern Spain. The itinerary you picked and the restaurants and hotels you found were perfect. Everything exceeded our expectations! One negative comment I have for you though is that I gained a lot of weight.
— Tracy K. & Kevin B. - Maryland, USA - October 2016
OUTSTANDING GUIDE, THE BEST WE HAVE HAD”
”We had a fantastic time during our 11 day trip with Charles. The itinerary he had planned was fun, varied and interesting. Everyday was packed with adventures. He took us to places we would have not been aware of on our own that were truly spectacular. We appreciated his knowledge of the land and learned a lot during our trip. The hotels and restaurants he chose were unique and memorable. Charles is an outstanding guide, the best we have had on our travels.
— Cristina W. - Missouri, USA - September 2016
WELL PLANNED, DIVERSE AND VERY PERSONAL”
”Thank you Charles for a well planned, diverse, and very personal trip of Northern Spain and El Camino. It was a trip of history, culture, food and wine, and self-reflection. We can’t thank you enough for the detail you paid to every aspect of our trip. We so enjoyed your personal favorite spots from museums, to churches, to sunsets. And the food was exceptional.
— Sophia C. - Missouri, USA - September 2016
CAN´T THANK YOU ENOUGH”
The highlight of my time in Spain was our time in the caves. I was so affected by seeing these works of art and learning so much about how they were made and how to look at and really see them. I can’t thank you enough for creating the perfect combination of caves and for your extensive knowledge that provided me with the foundation to make the most of my time in these very sacred spaces.
— Leigh F. - California, USA - September 2016
WILL REMEMBER THIS ... FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE”
I usually hate tours, but I loved this one. Charles is a very knowledgeable and fun guide. Nothing was rushed and the restaurants he chose were yummy with local food. You don’t need to worry about anything because Charles takes care of everything. Sometimes we were the only ones in the whole cave! It was amazing. I will remember this trip for the rest of my life. Thanks Charles!
— Ruth W. - Jedah, Saudi Arabia - September 2016
EXCEPTIONAL EXPERIENCE”
”All of my life, I’d dreamed of seeing the art of early man, but never expected to be able to ever see any in person. Seeing such beautiful art made by humans so many thousands of years ago was thrilling! You found the best caves and museums that we were able to see in the time we had. We appreciate the care and attention you gave us to ensure an exceptional experience.
— Ginny & Bill I., Washington, USA - September 2016
SUCH A GREAT SERVICE”
”We have very fond memories of our day with you; thanks for providing such a great service.
— Nancy E. Family, London, UK - August 2016
BEST TOUR GUIDE EVER”
”Charles is the best tour guide that we have ever had. He was kind, had a great sense of humor and was incredibly passionate about the decorated caves. He went out of his way each and everyday to make sure we saw as much as possible. In addition to seeing the breathtaking cave paintings, we also experienced some of the best and most authentic restaurants of our European travel.

We are educators who were specifically looking to make salient lesson plans for our students. Charles’ knowledge of the caves was inexhaustible—he was just as invested in our lesson plan’s success as we were. Even following the trip he made many educational resources available for us.
— Heather M., Vermont, USA - June 2016
A BESPOKE AND INTIMATE EXPERIENCE”
”Charles’ careful planning and passion made this a very special part of our trip to Northern Spain. The private guided tours of 6 caves with his ability to translate the information given by the Spanish-speaking guides and add his own wealth of knowledge made this a bespoke and intimate experience. Coupled with a long lunch and a bottle of Rioja in a Michelin starred restaurant each day – it was perfect!
— Delwyn E., New South Wales, Australia - June 2016
ONCE IN A LIFETIME EXPERIENCE”
A great way to experience and appreciate the vast cave paintings in Northern Spain. Charles’ tour includes more than just viewing cave drawings; he shares with you the rich legacy of the region, it’s artifacts, geological references, and thinking behind the cave art through a variety of museum visits, subject matter experts at each cave site, and best of all his own personal experiences growing up and exploring the caves himself. This is a once in a lifetime experience, glad we did it.
— Lee & Donna J., California, USA - June 2016
EXACTLY WHAT WE HAD HOPED”
”Charles was referred to us by a friend who had previously used his tour services. We had an unusual request for transportation and touring from Madrid to Bilbao with wine tasting through the Ribera del Duero region in route. He provided us with exactly what we had hoped to accomplish. He selected the wineries, the route, the notable sights and the restaurants for us. All were excellent. I would highly recommend Charles and of course would use his services if we return to any areas he services.
— Stuart S., Oregon, USA - June 2016
VERY SPECIAL TIME”
”David and I had a wonderful experience with you. You were more knowledgeable about the history of the caves and the pre-historic art than we expected. We also appreciated your down to earth sense of humor. We will always remember this very special time.
— Rona L. - New York, USA - May 2016
NO SUBSTITUTE FOR LOCAL KNOWLEDGE”
”Our group of six enjoyed a tailor made tour with Charles from Northern Exposure Spain. We generally regard ourselves as independent travelers, but it was wonderful to leave the driving, navigation and organisation to Charles. There is no substitute for local knowledge, plus we enjoyed a delicious lunch at a seaside restaurant, that we never would have found ourselves. Charles was an enthusiastic guide, who obviously relished showing us around Cantabria, which he regards as one of the most beautiful and fascinating areas on earth, and I am inclined to agree with him.” - Annette

”A HIGHLIGHT OF OUR 5 WEEKS IN SPAIN”
”We prefer travelling by ourselves rather than on large organised tours. In May 2016, we were in Northern Spain and very interested to see Paleolithic Cave Art in Cantabria. We were very fortunate to have gone on a tour with Charles of Northern Spain Tours. Charles tailored the tour to our needs and interests. Charles shared with us his extensive knowledge, expertise and passion for Paleolithic Cave art . Driving to each site, Charles used the time to tell us a lot of detailed background information that made the cave visits much more meaningful. For me, this one day tour was a very special experience, a highlight of our 5 weeks in Spain.
— Annette Q. group - Australian Capital Territory, Australia - May 2016
A HIGHPOINT INDEED”
”A WONDERFUL Experience…Alison and I loved Charles’ enthusiasm and knowledge about archaeology and prehistory, food and wine and his passion for Cantabrian history and culture. Thank you! Thanks again Charles, money well spent and a highpoint indeed.
— David M., Australia - April 2016
IN SUCH AN ENGAGING WAY”
”Spending 3 days with you before starting our Camino trek was a wonderful introduction to the culture of Spain! We saw such beautiful places,ate such great food, and enjoyed such wide-ranging conversations as we toured around. Our focal point when with you was the amazing cave art, but we were also interested in other pre-history. You brought the paleolithic, pre-Roman and Roman Cantabrian worlds to life for us, through our visits to various archaeological sites. Thank you for sharing your insights and knowledge with us in such an engaging way!
— Mike K. & Bev S. - British Columbia, Canada - April 2016
OUR TOUR WAS FLAWLESS”
”The trip to see the cave art was the highlight of my 5 week tour of Spain and Portugal. Charles is a wonderful host and tour guide; our tour was flawless. Lunch together in a local restaurant was a lovely bonus. It was a long but stimulating and productive day of extraordinary value and the experience of a lifetime.
— Karen E., British Columbia, Canada - April 2016
VERY CARING”
”We still remember with great fondness our experience with you and the excursion of the caves . You were truly a wonderful and knowledgeable guide. Not only were you a great person but very caring of Barbara with her limited physical abilities. It was a remarkable day and certainly a highlight of our trip to Spain.
— Tim & Barbara S., Canada - April 2016
FANTASTIC”
”I can sum up the entire experience in one word - FANTASTIC!! Charles’ knowledge of pre-historic caves is exemplary. On top of that, his experience of travelling around the world has added to his repertoire. We greatly benefitted from his knowledge and friendly character during our visit. We would recommend anyone who plans to visit the caves to book his services without a blink of an eye. From the day I contacted Charles, he has been extremely informative, prompt and helpful. Any questions (even weird ones) were answered in a professional and timely manner.”
— Dipan D., Alberta, Canada - December 2015
A WONDERFUL GUIDE”
”Charles was a wonderful guide on our recent trip to see prehistoric cave art. He met us right at the train, arranged for an overnight stay in a lovely place and accompanied us to three different and beautiful caves. Charles helped me navigate through some areas that could have been difficult for me as an 84 year old with a broken arm! I recommend him highly to anyone interested in this type of tour.
— Barbara G., Georgia, USA - November 2015
EDUCATED, EXPERIENCED, EXTRAORDINARY INVESTMENT.”
”It has been a month since I toured with Charles into the caves of Northern Spain. Charles’ infectious passion for how people from thousands of years ago captured their experience in cave paintings set the tone for an individualized, exceptionally rich experience. It has been a month since the tours and I am still exuberant when I share what I learned. As a kid, visiting the caves were always a goal; little did I know I the extent of details I would learn both from Charles. I thoroughly enjoyed how Charles could meet me where I was with my knowledge and questions, planning a program that met my interests and abilities and the rich conversations before and after visiting the caves, chatting about the ancient peoples and the lands where they painted. . I am still buzzing. This experience rates as one of my best experiences with guides over 20 years of travelling. I highly recommend Northern Exposure Spain and Charles as an educated, experienced, extraordinary investment.
— Emma B., British Columbia, Canada - October 2015
FRIENDLY, ENTHUSIASTIC AND KNOWLEDGEABLE SERVICES”
”Our thoroughly enjoyable visit to see the cave art of Northern Spain would not have been possible without a guide. Northern Exposure Spain provided friendly, enthusiastic and knowledgeable services. We also received some very helpful insights for other aspects of our travels in Spain.
— Dave & Marcia B., Ontario, Canada - October 2015
A HIGHLIGHT OF OUR TRIP TO EUROPE”
”I cannot recommend Charles of Northern Exposure Spain highly enough. He was easy to communicate with before our trip and tailored our excursion to the painted caves to match our desires. I was thrilled when I finally got to see these amazing places where the distant past feels so near and real. All four of us loved the day and enjoyed Charles’ knowledge, patience, and sense of humor. It was a highlight of our trip to Europe.
— Donna H., California, USA - October 2015
REMAINS IN MY HEART AND THOUGHTS”
”The tour provided by Northern Exposure Spain surpassed my expectations. With only a short timeframe available, Charles customized a wonderful tour of the significant Paleolithic cave art sites, archaeological digs and sites of interest relating to human evolution. The communication and planning prior to the tour was well organized, pick-ups were punctual and information well researched. Charles’ passion and knowledge for Paleolithic cave art, combined with excellent well established relationships with the local guides made this tour an experience of a lifetime. Northern Exposure Spain provides the personal touch, and the itinerary was flexible enough to include last minute extra excursions and the chance to experience quaint Spanish towns and sample local cuisine. As a single traveler, I felt at all times safe and well looked after. The experience of standing in the caves of Northern Spain was unforgettable. Following the trip I travelled to France and visited other cave sites as a regular tourist, however it is the caves of Spain and the experience provided by Northern Exposure that remains in my heart and thoughts.
— Chris R., Canterbury, New Zealand - September 2015
THE ULTIMATE TOUR GUIDE”
”Charles is the ultimate tour guide. Extremely knowledgeable, exceptionally well organized, but flexible. This personal tour is the best experience you can have in Northern Spain. Our caving adventures, crafted to our needs and capabilities, were outstanding. Charles is personable with a unique history. Spending his early years in Libya, educated in Spain and USA with citizenship in both, he has a love for the outdoors , all of which he combines into an unforgettable adventure.
— Howard & Wendy L., Oregon, USA - September 2015
AMAZING AND HUMBLING”
”I am still on a high from my trip to Spain! I cannot thank you enough for the wonderful experience at the caves. I still tell people how it was the most amazing and humbling experience of my trip.
— Chantelle R., Western Australia, Australia - July 2015
EXPERIENCE OF A LIFETIME”
”Our day of exploring Paleolithic cave art with Charles was truly the high point of our visit to northern Spain. This was an experience of a lifetime. Planning, communication, and arrangements were all outstanding. We especially enjoyed your vast historical knowledge of the area. You were great and made a memorable day for us. Thank you!”
— Don & Ann J., California, USA - July 2015
A TRIP HIGHLIGHT FOR SURE”
”I wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed the cave tours, and the day we spent together. It was a trip highlight for sure. I do think it left a lasting impression. A friend interviewed Nathan about the trip the other day, and he mentioned the caves in the top few things we did on the trip. I feel very fortunate to have had the experience, and better understand some of the history. I am so glad my parents recommended you. Thank you for planning a thoughtful, interesting, and fun day for us.” - Katie

”WORTH TALKING ABOUT”
”Thanks Charles. We had a great time and Cole was talking about the cave drawings to his dad when we met up with him in Madrid. So there is some that stuck and worth talking about.” - Danna
— Katie & Nathan H., Danna & Cole R., Washington, USA - July 2015
THE BEST OF THE BEST”
”We are seasoned travelers who appreciate the personal and in depth experience of a local tour guide when we visit new places. Charles and Northern Exposure Spain are the best of the best. Our visit to Cantabria was only one day, but Charles took time to get to know our interests and capabilities. We had a full day packed with cave art from across time. Lunch by the dunes with fresh seafood and crisp wine was a perfect stop on a hot summer day.

Lovers of local culture, natural history, art – from paleo to modern, human prehistory, food & wine, or more active adventures can look forward to an authentic and fascinating experience with Charles and Northern Exposure Spain.
— Linda & Doug E., Texas, USA - July 2015
A RIGOROUS, INFORMATIVE AND ENTERTAINING WEEK”
”I’m an elementary school teacher in Spain and I write lesson plans for a living. This was a true holiday for me because someone else was writing the lesson plans! All I had to do is show up and enjoy the day! Charles customized a rigorous, informative and entertaining week of exploring UNESCO Paleolithic caves/museums based upon a pre-tour questionnaire that featured what we like: morning cave tours, afternoon naps, spa hotel, local dining and opportunities to give back to the communities we visited. As a result of this tour, I’m falling deeper and deeper in love with Spain!” - Karen

”BLEW ME AWAY”
”I have never been on a tour before and Charles just blew me away! I’ve known him all my life, but just met him yesterday. Very confident, funny, and a great companion! There was no need for worry and his passion for his country and the caves were contagious.” - Nancy

”LIKE AN EXHILARATING PIECE OF MUSIC”
”My tour was like an exhilarating piece of music; arranged and performed by world class artist, Charles. The beat and melody lingers on – rock on Charles.” - Diana
— Karen S., Nancy W. & Diana M. (Tres Hermanas), USA - June 2015
NOT A FIVE-STAR TRIP - IT’S A CONSTELLATION”
”I recently did my second trip with Charles, and it was even better than the one before. Since we had seen nearly everything on my wish list last year, I just put this visit in his capable hands and the result was magical. That is not an exaggeration. I frequently felt as if we were in a charmed state. I don’t know if I have ever seen so many beautiful and fascinating sights in one day in my life. The orchids! Charles is a natural-born guide and knows northern Spain in ways I am sure most people who live there don’t know it. This is not a five-star trip - it’s a constellation.
— Joan L., California, USA - May 2015
A LOT OF FUN - AND LEARNED SO MUCH”
”We all loved our three-day tour with Charles across northern Spain. He really listened to what we wanted to do (art, architecture, history, churches, food!) and chose a great variety of fun things to see and do. AND all very unusual and different. We never would have known about these on our own. Charles is also a nice guy – and fun to talk to. You don’t want to be in a car for three days with someone you don’t like or can’t relate to! We all had a lot of fun – and learned SO much!” - Leslie

”ALL THAT WE WANTED TO SEE AND SO MUCH MORE”
”We are 4 women from Texas (well, one is from NY) who had just walked 108 kilometers on the Camino de Santiago. It was so good to sit back and let Charles take us on a tour of Northern Spain. He included all that we wanted to see and so much more. We never could have covered the same amount of ground on our own in four days. Although we were on a very tight schedule, we never felt rushed.” - Barbara

”WHAT A TREAT TO DISCOVER NORTHERN SPAIN WITH YOU”
”You led us on a fantastic tour of Northern Spain. We saw things and places that we never would have found or known about What a treat to discover northern Spain with you leading us! Beautiful countryside. I always felt safe with you at the wheel! You did an outstanding job! Thank you so much!” - Gail
— Leslie & Barbara C., Susan T., Texas/Gail M., New York, USA - May 2015
WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE”
”Charles is very knowledgeable and enhances the experience. Very well organized. Was waiting for us up on arrival and a clean and comfortable vehicle. Wonderful experience.
— Dave G & Teresa B., Missouri, USA - April 2015
STRONGLY IMPRESSED MY FAMILY”
”Charles was an excellent tour guide. In addition to providing transportation and scheduling cave visits, he gave knowledgeable commentary and explanations of what we were seeing. Though not an archaeologist by training, he exhibited a passion and knowledge of the subject that evidenced many hours of study and strongly impressed my family. He was easy to talk with about many subjects and made our visit to the caves a fabulous experience that we will remember for the rest of our lives. It was a humbling and somewhat “religious” experience to stand where our Paleolithic ancestors once stood and to observe some of mankind’s earliest artistic expression. Even my 21 year old son, who had originally scoffed at the idea of visiting ancient cave art, came away with an unexpectedly positive appreciation of what we had seen.
— Steve L. family, Connecticut, USA - March 2015
TALENT THAT SETS CHARLES ABOVE OTHER GUIDES”
”Charles was a perfect guide. I contacted him about my travels to Spain, and my interests. He set up a few days of adventure custom made for me. When weather got in the way of one of our activities, he quickly switched gears, and planned a full day that could include my partner as well. We had such a delightful time on our stormy day tour which included the Gaudi house, small windy roads leading to remote villages filled with remarkable architecture, and a wonderful old restaurant for lunch. Charles has a thorough knowledge of the area and culture. Our caving day was superb. We visited a cave, where I welled with tears at the first horse etching, and another where I could see the paintings running in the flickering light. Then a wild cave with formations older than the paintings we had seen. Since Charles is astute enough to understand what his client is interested in, he is able to give you a Spanish experience (in English) suited just for you. This is the talent that sets Charles above other guides, his charm and intellect top it off!
— Alison H., Tennessee, USA - March 2015
TOUR THAT WE WILL NEVER FORGET”
”Charles was extremely helpful in designing a special interest tour of Northern Spain for us. Our tour centered around the Paleolithic cave art, related museums and surrounding fishing villages and mountain towns. We sent him our wish list and he created the most interesting, informative and intimate experience ever. Charles planned a five day hassle free tour that we will never forget. When we arrived in Bilbao we were greeted by a knowledgeable tourism professional and when we parted in Burgos we said goodbye to a friend. It was a wonderful experience.” - Jean

”WHOLEHEARTEDLY RECOMMEND”
”Charles is very enthusiastic about what he does and enjoys sharing in the lesser-known, off-the-beaten-path specialties of the region. He is extremely competent, flexible, and amenable. We ended up feeling like family members, respected and well-cared for. His passion and compassion and integrity shine through. I would wholeheartedly recommend touring with him to anyone visiting northern Spain!” - Amy
— Amy E. & Jean D., New York, USA - October 2014
IT WAS UNFORGETTABLE AND I AM EXTREMELY GRATEFUL”
”This was the best guided-tour I have ever experienced anywhere. Charles asked the right questions beforehand to determine how to spend the time I allowed, and created a visit to Cantabria that was beyond my expectations, or even my hopes. It was a perfect blend of nature and cave art, exactly as I requested. He was flexible when my independent activities required changing his plan. In addition to our itinerary, I asked for three specific errands and he saw to it that they were accomplished with no extra effort on my part. Not only was the fee reasonable, but after the tour was complete I felt that it had been a great bargain. His tireless good nature and interesting conversation make Charles a fine companion and his detailed knowledge of the area and the people who live there make him an incomparable guide to northern Spain and a fountain of information. I absolutely recommend him at the highest level and even want to return so my adult children can have a similar experience. It was unforgettable and I am extremely grateful.
— Ms. Joan L., California, USA - September 2014
EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS BY FAR”
”Thank you so much for everything that you did and organized. The trip exceeded our expectations by far. Seriously, you have the ability to share your knowledge and love for your area and the caves. Mollie said that the trip to Spain was her favorite part of our vacation.
— A-T Family, California, USA - June 2014
SIT BACK AND ENJOY”
”Four days in mystical Northern Spain with Charles the “chief experience officer” was the highlight of our trip to Europe this summer. He could not have more informative on the regions of Asturias, Cantabria, and Basque Country. Charles is fun and flexible adjusting to our wishes to stay longer and drink more wine or add on a private cave tour which was delightful and rounded out our trip. I highly recommend Charles and let him schedule the itinerary, hotels, restaurants. Sit back and enjoy. - Karen”

“NOTHING LESS THAN STUPENDOUS”
”My experience with Northern Exposure Spain was nothing less than stupendous. Our personal tour guide, Charles, was extremely efficient while planning and took great interest in accommodating our wishes, yet did not hesitate to offer alterations which always proved to be the better plan. His selection of hotels was superb. We were exposed to quite a variety of local living styles and our visit to view Paleolithic cave art provided a very articulate and entertaining guide. Charles is extremely knowledge of the regional wines and cuisine and led us to great dining experiences. He attended to many details of planning an incredible holistic experience of the northern coast of Spain. I couldn’t have asked for more. - Terry
— Ms. Karen K. & Ms. Terri G., Illinois, USA - June 2014
THE HIGHLIGHT OF AN ALREADY FABULOUS TRIP”
”The three days we spent with Charles touring the caves of Northern Spain were really the highlight of an already fabulous trip. Charles really understood what we wanted to see and also had a complete understanding of the kinds of food, wine and cultural experiences we were seeking. Charles brought a wealth of information that enhanced our “cave experiences” and he introduced us to some wonderful wines and food we had never tried (and we’re pretty well travelled.) We highly recommend Charles to anyone planning a trip to Northern Spain.
— Mr. David & Mrs. Michelle L., California, USA - May 2014
“WE GOT SO MUCH MORE OUT OF OUR VISIT TO NORTHERN SPAIN”
”We had a wonderful time on our Northern Exposure Spain tour. Our guide Charles was a font of knowledge. We got so much more out of our visit to Northern Spain due to Charles knowledge of the area. A very personalized experience. - Julie”

”THIS WAS AN ABSOLUTELY TERRIFIC EXPERIENCE!”
”This was an absolutely terrific experience! Charles has extensive knowledge of northern Spain and of the historical and archaeological sites we visited, and particularly of the Paleolithic cave art sites. He was also a great traveling companion. As English speakers with virtually no Spanish, we would not have gotten nearly as much out of the cave tours if we had been on our own. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip, and hope to do something like it again. - Bruce
— Mr. Bruce & Mrs. Julie B., Alaska, USA - May 2014
A VERY SPECIAL ADVENTURE ”
”All of us in the group are widely travelled over many years and we agreed that having Charles as our guide made for a very special adventure. I highly recommend Charles and Northern Exposure Spain for an in-depth but lighthearted tour of northern Spain you won’t forget. Charles’ easygoing manner and wonderful sense of humor along with his deep love of his homeland added real pleasure to our trip. (And did I mention that he plays pretty mean Cantabrian bagpipes?)
— Mr. Dave Y., New Mexico, USA - April 2014
AN UNFORGETTABLE EXPERIENCE”
”Touring Northern Spain with Charles was a wonderful experience. He considered all my interests and designed a program that exceeded my expectations. I have traveled on 6 continents on my own and on tours. Charles is one of the best guides I have had: experienced, knowledgeable, curious, with a great sense of humour and appreciation of nature and culture combined. It quickly became apparent he knows the area intimately having explored it since childhood. I was delighted by surprise visits to special places as we traveled along the roads. My main reason for going to this area was to see the Palaeolithic cave art of Spain following a visit to the French caves in Dordogne the year before. Charles got me into 8 UNESCO caves- an unforgettable experience. He also took me to museums, art galleries, churches, medieval towns, Roman and Celtic sites, port towns, national parks, sea, valley and mountain viewpoints, markets and even a ranchers fair, a music concert and some gourmet restaurants. I had a great time and would thoroughly recommend touring Northern Spain with Charles as your guide!
— Ms. Trallee D., British Columbia, Canada - October 2013
ONE OF OUR BEST HOLIDAYS”
”Our tour in northern Spain with Northern Exposure Spain was a perfect commencement to our European itinerary. The tour was structured to unfold as both an adventure and learning experience. Although the itinerary was mainly tailored to our timing and interests (Palaeolithic cave art, prehistory/history), we experienced places that we did not know existed, and that revealed the magnificent beauty of the region. Charles’ local experience, knowledge of the local environment and species, all round skills and sense of humour made the journey one of our best holidays. We learned more than we could have anticipated and in fact this trip ignited our interests in continuing to learn more about prehistory and about Spain.
— Mrs. Val and Mr. Chris M., New South Wales, Australia - October 2013
MADE US FEEL AT HOME ”
”The places we went were fascinating, particularly the Camino de Santiago, the cathedrals and the mountain festival. If we wanted to veer off a little, you were fine with it. You were informative and considerate. You made us feel at home. We were glad to see as much as we did in our time with you.
— Mr. Patt & Mrs. Diane M., Texas, USA - September 2013
HIGHLIGHT OF THE TRIP ”
”My wife and I and two friends recently traveled to Spain. We spent almost 3 weeks in Spain but we all agree that the highlight of the trip was the day we spent with Charles of Northern Exposure Spain touring caves. What a fabulous day!
— Mr. Joel W., Hawaii, USA - September 2013
A WONDERFUL BRIDGE BETWEEN CULTURES”
”We had a fantastic time with Charles on a guided tour of several sites in Northern Spain! Charles is a wonderful bridge between cultures, contemporary and ancient, within Spain. Having a guide made all the difference for us during our day of touring. We visited ancient caves, hiked little known paths, entered ancient sanctuaries, both under and above ground, and had a delectable feast in a Spanish home. Charles devoted the enter day to us, nearly dawn to dusk, taking us more places than we could have imagined. We highly recommend Charles!
— H-W Family, Virginia, USA - August 2013
MOST SATISFYING EXPERIENCE... EVER ”
”We have traveled extensively around the world, touring North and South America, Europe, Africa, and Asia. We can say without reservation that our 8 day tour with Northern Exposure Spain was the most satisfying experience/adventure that we have ever had. Charles tailored the trip to our individual desires/needs and recommended itineraries, but also took us to the places that the locals frequent (and provided an insight rarely found). He speaks English and Spanish as a primary language. Many guides can speak both languages, but to have one who can communicate precisely in each language is a benefit beyond compare, a phenomenal advantage. His knowledge of the area is unparalleled, but is exceeded by his passion and love of his country. To be able to absorb this passion and learn about your adventure is something that is difficult to find. We hope that many others can explore Northern Spain as we have.
— Dr. Gene & Mrs. Gerry K., Texas, USA - May 2013
NEVER HAD A TOUR GUIDE AS KNOWLEDGEABLE ”
”Charles I want to thank you for the wonderful experience I had touring Northern Spain. I have traveled extensively in Europe and the United States and I can say that I have never had a tour guide as knowledgeable as you. I had so much fun and learned so much about Northern Spain and am still in awe of the caves. It was such a pleasure to meet you and I will be sure to recommend you to anyone considering a visit to Spain. - Ellen”

”FAR AND AWAY THE BEST GUIDE ”
”A fantastic vacation in Northern Spain, thanks to Charles’ superb guidance and accompaniment, far and away the best guide I could have ever imagined. He made all the arrangements and took us exactly where we wanted to go, plus to other excellent, beautiful and tasty places we didn’t know about. As a non-Spanish-speaking American, I was thrilled to find that Charles is both an American and a Spaniard, and as a local, he communicated perfectly with everyone. I could not recommend him and Northern Exposure more highly, and Northern Spain is gorgeous! - Nadine
— Ms. Ellen D. & Ms. Nadine B., New York, USA - October 2012
FUN AND STRESS FREE”
”Our trip to Northern Spain was one of the best vacations we have ever been on. Charles’ personal attention, knowledge and planning were outstanding. The fact that he spoke Spanish and was able to translate for us everywhere we went was awesome. This was such a fun and stress free vacation. Thank you Charles for making us feel like we were lifelong friends and showing us your beautiful country. It really shows that you love what you do.
— Mrs. Renee & Mr. Pat, C., Texas, USA - March 2012
SURPASSED ALL EXPECTATIONS”
”Northern Exposure Spain put together a fabulous week for me in Spain, which surpassed all of my expectations. I traveled to Spain specifically to study Spanish intensively. Charles was able to arrange a great week of private instruction in Santander as well as daily excursions to see historic and cultural sites which were of great interest to me. The food, the countryside, the art, the prehistoric caves and medieval churches and monasteries were spectacular. I cannot commend Northern Exposure Spain and Charles highly enough.
— Rev. Marek Z., Pennsylvania, USA - November 2011
KNOWLEDGE OF THE AREA IS PROFOUND”
”Cantabria is famous for some of the finest prehistoric painted caves in Europe. Charles was able to set up impromptu visits to seldom-seen caves. We also toured the remains of the Roman Empire. He seems to know everyone and his knowledge of the area is profound. I will jealously commandeer some of his time next year. You should feel free to take him on. Just don’t hire him during the time I want him!
— Mr. Rob S. and Ms. Danielle T., California, USA - July 2011 & June 2012
ADDING SO MUCH TO OUR TRIP”
”Charles, we want to thank you again for adding so much to our trip to Spain. As you know, we toured Cantabria, the Basque country, ran with the bulls, and wrapped up in Madrid, but our experience with you was a highlight. We were able to see and do so much that we would never have had a chance to do otherwise. Your local knowledge and your love of the area are unparalleled. You’re a great guide. We look forward to our imminent return!
— Mr. Jeff & Mrs. Beth A., Texas, USA - July 2011
CATERED THE TOURS”
”Thank you Charles! We enjoyed our day tours with you enormously. I was blessed to meet an easygoing, adventurous, dog liking, hiking to the source of a spring, waterfall seeking guide that catered the tours for one woman and one dog. Your guided tour of the countryside to see the beauty, the hikes to discover the hidden villages were a perfectly delightful adventure!
— Ms. Melanie and Molly, California, USA - Spring 2011